The Cure perform massive 40-song set at London Christmas show

Band played string of rare songs as well as classics

The Cure performed a historic 40-song set at their Christmas show at London’s Hammersmith Eventim Apollo last night (December 21).

In the first show of a three-night residency, the band promised the crowd a two-and-a-half-hour set featuring “songs drawn from their entire 37-year-old catalogue, including deep cuts, pop songs, fan favourites and surprises galore.”

Alongside well-loved classics ‘Close To Me’, ‘Lullaby’, ‘The Lovecats’, and ‘Boys Don’t Cry’, the set also included the live debut of ‘The Head On The Door’ B-side ‘A Man Inside My Mouth’, as well as the first performance of ‘The Wailing Wall’ and ‘The Empty World’ in 30 years.


Other rarities included ‘Kyoto Song’, ‘Live Cockatoos’, ‘Piggy in the Mirror’, and ‘Hey You!’ There were also four separate encores.

Earlier this year The Cure frontman Robert Smith revealed to NME that the group’s next album will be a mix of brand new material and unused material from 2008’s ‘4:13 Dream’, their most recent record. Smith said he wanted that album to be a double, but just a single album was eventually released.

The Cure played:


‘Shake Dog Shake’
‘Kyoto Song’
‘A Night Like This’
‘Wailing Wall’
‘The Caterpillar’
‘The Walk’
‘A Man Inside My Mouth’
‘Close to Me’
‘Birdmad Girl’
‘Just Like Heaven’
‘Pictures Of You’
‘Before Three’
‘Like Cockatoos’
‘From The Edge Of The Deep Green Sea’

’The Hungry Ghost’
‘One Hundred Years’
‘Give Me It’
‘The Empty World’
Charlotte Sometimes’
‘The Top’
‘Dressing Up’
‘Piggy In The Mirror’
‘Never Enough’
‘Wrong Number’
‘Three Imaginary Boys’
‘Play For Today’
‘A Forest’
‘The Lovecats’
‘Let’s Go To Bed’
‘Why Can’t I Be You?’
‘Boys Don’t Cry’
‘Hey You!’