The Cure’s Roger O’Donnell is working on his first film score

New The Cure album ‘Songs Of A Lost World’ is due out later this year

The Cure’s Roger O’Donnell has confirmed he’s working on his first film score.

Taking to Twitter yesterday (August 22), the keyboardist said he had “just delivered the 27 cues for my first movie score.”

“Very exciting and will share the details when I can. What an experience,” he continued.


“Please tell us more,” replied one fan, with O’Donnell revealing that he “can’t.”

It comes as The Cure have been working on two records, with the first hopefully being released before the band start their European and UK tour this October. “The first Cure album is relentless doom and gloom. It’s the doomiest thing that we’ve ever done. The second one is upbeat, and my [solo] one won’t be out until next year,” vocalist Robert Smith said at the BandLab NME Awards 2022.

Catching up with NME once again in May, Smith said ‘Songs Of A Lost World’ was “almost finished”.

The Cure's Robert Smith at the BandLab NME Awards 2022. Credit: Zoe McConnell for NME
Andrew Trendell on The Cure’s Robert Smith: “A lovely chap with a dry wit.” Credit: Zoe McConnell at the BandLab NME Awards 2022

“Essentially it’s a 12-track album. It’s there, it’s kind of half-mixed and half-finished,” he explained. “It’s a weird thing. It’s kind of evolved over the last two years. It hasn’t always been a good thing to have been left alone with it. You pick at it, like picking at seams, and everything falls apart.”


Smith went on: “It’ll be worth the wait. I think it’s the best thing we’ve done, but then I would say that. I’m not doing an Oasis when I say that, ‘IT’S THE BEST FOOKIN’ ALBUM’. A lot of the songs are difficult to sing, and that’s why it’s taken me a while.”

As for the themes and character of the follow-up to 2008’s ‘4:13 Dream’, Smith told NME that the record “doesn’t have very much light on it”, and sounds “more like ‘Disintegration’ than ‘Head On The Door’.”

The Cure have also announced a 30th anniversary reissue of their ninth studio album ‘Wish’.

The remastered album will be released alongside 24 previously-unreleased tracks – including demos, instrumentals and rare 12″ mixes – as well as four songs that will be coming to CD and digital platforms for the first time. It’s due out October 7, while The Cure’s 2022 UK and Ireland tour kicks off in Dublin on December 1 – you can see the full list of dates below and find any remaining tickets here.

01 – 3ARENA, Dublin, Ireland
02 – SSE, Belfast, Northern Ireland
04 – OVO HYDRO, Glasgow, Scotland
06 – FIRST DIRECT ARENA, Leeds, England
07 – UTILITA ARENA, Birmingham, England
08 – MOTORPOINT ARENA, Cardiff, Wales
11 – THE SSE ARENA, Wembley, London, England
12 – THE SSE ARENA, Wembley, London, England
13 – THE SSE ARENA, Wembley, London, England

You May Like