McFly are Number One

But who won the chart battle between Pete Doherty and Justin Hawkins?...

McFLY have ended JAMES BLUNT’s five week reign at the top of the UK singles chart.

The band knocked ’You’re Beautiful’ from the number one position with ’I’ll Be OK’.

Babyshambles also scored their highest chart placing with ’Fuck Forever’ debuting at four.

Iron Maiden’s new single ’The Trooper’ entered the chart at five and The Darkness singer Justin Hawkins’ side project British Whale hit six with his cover of the Sparks song ’This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us’.

Other new entries came from Black Rebel Motorcycle Club at 21 with ’Ain’t No Easy Way’ and Super Furry Animals at 28 with ’Lazer Beam’.

Despite losing his number one single, Blunt’s debut album ’Back To Bedlam’ keeps hold of the top spot in the album charts.

This week’s top ten singles are:

1. McFly – ‘I’ll Be Ok’

2. James Blunt – ‘You’re Beautiful’

3. Daniel Powter – ‘Bad Day’

4. Babyshambles – ‘Fuck Forever’

5. Iron Maiden – ‘The Trooper’

6. British Whale – ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us’

7. Kelly Clarkson – ‘Since U Been Gone’

8. Craig David – ‘All The Way’

9. Goldfrapp – ‘Ooh La La’

10. Akon – ‘Belly Dancer (Bananza)’