The Darkness reforming for new album and Download Festival slot

Justin Hawkins and co to return after four years apart

The Darkness have confirmed that they are reuniting.

The spandex-loving rockers are set to make a new album this spring and play the Download Festival in June.

The band, who split in 2007, have only just confirmed their reunion. However, frontman Justin Hawkins told BBC Newsbeat that he has been making new music with his brother Dan, also an original band member, for years.

“It was frustrating for a long time to not be able to tell anybody because we’ve had to sort of keep it a secret,” he said. “It was like a forbidden romance without the trail.”

The band are reuniting the original line-up, which also features bassist Frankie Poullain and drummer Ed Graham.

“The main thing for us is to make sure that musically we turn the experience into something positive again,” Hawkins added.

Download Festival takes place on June 10-12 at Donington Park with System Of A Down, Def Leppard and Linkin Park headlining.

See for more information.

To check the availability of Download Festival tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.

The Download Festival line-up so far is:

Alice Cooper
All That Remains
Alter Bridge
Asking Alexandria
Avenged Sevenfold
Black Veil Brides
Black Stone Cherry
Bowling For Soup
Bring Me The Horizon
Bullet For My Valentine
Cheap Trick
The Cult
The Damned Things
The Darkness
Def Leppard
Devil Wears Prada
Duff McKagan’s Loaded
Escape The Fate
Frank Turner
The Gaslight Anthem
Hollywood Undead
Jameson Raid
The King Blues
Linkin Park
Madina Lake
Masters Of Reality
Mr Big
The Pretty Reckless
Puddle Of Mudd
Rob Zombie
Rise To Remain
Sacred Mother Tongue
Skunk Anansie
Straight Line Stitch
Suicide Silence
System Of A Down
Thin Lizzy
Times Of Grace
Trash Talk
Twisted Sister
Your Demise