The Dead Weather announce release date for new album ‘Dodge & Burn’

The record follows on from 2010's 'Sea of Cowards' on September 25

The Dead Weather have confirmed a firm release date for their long-awaited new album.

The band, which consists of The Kills‘ Alison Mosshart, Jack White, Dean Fertita and Jack Lawrence, released their second album ‘Sea Of Cowards’ in 2010, which followed 2009 debut ‘Horehound’.

Having issued a series of seven-inch singles over the past couple of years, the group will now release third full-length ‘Dodge & Burn’ on September 25 via White’s own Third Man Records.


Third Man Records announced the release date in a GIF posted to Twitter.

The album will feature eight new songs, as well as the four previously released songs (‘Buzzkill(er)’, ‘It’s Just Too Bad’, ‘Open Up (That’s Enough)’, ‘Rough Detective’), the latter of which have been remixed and remastered for the new release.

Jordan Hughes/NMENME

According to a press release, the band “spent their rare and sporadic free moments over the past year recording together in Nashville”, adding that “the thick and heavy ‘Dodge & Burn’ will satisfy your urges for the dark magic that is The Dead Weather for a very long time”.


It’s also been confirmed that the band will not tour in support of the LP. A limited-edition version of the album will be released via Third Man Records’ Vault subscription series, featuring opaque yellow and black vinyl, alternate artwork, an embossed sleeve, poster, a deck of Dead Weather playing cards and a seven-inch single.