Editors, Cribs and Prodigy on new covers compilation

Plus memorabilia from Arctic Monkeys and Radiohead up for grabs

A unique compilation celebrating independently released music is coming out next month.

The double CD, only be available from July 4 until 7, will feature covers of independently released tracks by artists such as the The Cribs, Feeder, Editors and The Prodigy.

The limited edition one-off collection has been created to celebrate the launch of Independents Day.


A new yearly initiative from AIM in the UK, Independents Day hopes to raise awareness and celebrate the importance and success of independently released music globally.

Simultaneous releases of similarly themed albums will come out around the world in countries including US, New Zealand, Spain and Australia.

The tracklisting for the album is as follows:


Tom Smith from Editors – ‘Bonny’ (originally by Prefab Sprout)

Feeder – ‘Public Image’ (originally by PIL)


Maximo Park – ‘Was There Anything I Could Do?’ (originally by Go Betweens)

Prodigy – ‘Ghost Town’ (originally by The Specials)

Cribs – ‘Bastards Of Young’ (originally by The Replacements)

Jose Gonzales – ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’ (originally by Joy Division)

Futureheads – ‘With Every Heartbeat’ (originally by Robyn)

Jack Penate – ‘Dub Be Good To Me’ (originally by Beats International)

Rodrigo y Gabriela – ‘Orion’ (originally by Metallica)

British Sea Power – ‘Tug Boat’ (originally by Galaxie 500)

The Charlatans – ‘Murder’ (originally by New Order)

Infadels – ‘Steady As She Goes’ (originally by The Raconteurs)

CD2 will include tracks from the likes of Mobius Band, Little Dragon, Cougar, Shrag, Oceansize and Electricity In Our Homes.

Money raised from this, and an eBay auction featuring prizes including VIP festival tickets, rock star music lessons and rare memorabilia from Arctic Monkeys, Gary Numan and Radiohead, will go towards the independent music community and their chosen charities.

For more information go to Independentsday.com