The Enemy named best debut of 2007

XFM crown their favourite album of last year

The Enemy’s album ‘We’ll Live And Die In These Towns’ has been named debut of 2007 by XFM.

The Coventry three-piece picked up the prize last night (January 16) at the radio station’s first ever New Music Award.

The announcement was a made at ceremony at KOKO in London which saw live performances from The Wombats, The View, The Twang, The Maccabees, Frank Turner and Air Traffic.

The ceremony was hosted by DJ Alex Zane, who has a long-running feud with The Enemy, although frontman Tom Clarke’s absence was blamed on illness.

The nominees for Xfm New Music Award were:

Air Traffic – ‘Fractured Life’

The Enemy – ‘We’ll Live and Die In These Towns’

Frank Turner – ‘Sleep Is For The Week’

Kate Nash – ‘Made Of Bricks’

Klaxons – ‘Myths Of The Near Future’

The Maccabees – ‘Colour It In’

The Pigeon Detectives – ‘Wait For Me’

The Twang – ‘Love It When I Feel Like This’

The View – ‘Hats Off To The Buskers’

The Wombats ‘The Wombats Proudly Present… A Guide To Love, Loss and Desperation’

The winner was picked by a panel that included Maximo Park’s Paul Smith, NME editor Conor McNicholas and Manic Street Preachers bassist Nicky Wire.