The Fiery Furnaces’ Matthew Friedberger to release eight solo albums in 2011

He says: 'I thought it would be fun to have way too many things to do'

The Fiery FurnacesMatthew Friedberger has revealed that he will release eight solo albums in 2011.

The vinyl-only series is called ‘Solos’ and will feature Friedberger on vocals along with just one other instrument on each album.

“Playing rock, except for driving around and carrying equipment in and out of a van and getting bedbugs from the motel and that kind of thing, you don’t have to work very hard, so it seems,” Friedberger told “So I thought it would be fun to have way too many things to do.”


‘Solos’ will take the form of six albums released between January and November 2011, plus two bonus LPs which will only be available to those who subscribe to the whole series.

The first album is the piano-based ‘Napoleonette’, which was recorded in Michigan and is due out in January.

“I chose that [‘Napoleonette’] to be the title because the piano is a very imperious, imperial instrument,” he explained, before adding that he also used the instrument in less conventional ways such as “scraping the strings in the piano for percussive effects [and] beating on the wood of the piano.”

Meanwhile, his sister and bandmate Eleanor Friedberger is currently working on her own solo album. Before the end of the year, the pair will also begin work on a new Fiery Furnaces studio effort.

“It’s going to be a loud, aggressive rock record,” he admits about the group’s new album. “The songs are rock songs. They’re pretty wordy, I guess. They definitely have melodies, though. They’re songs with words and tunes.”

A release date for the follow-up to 2009’s ‘Take Me Round Again’ has yet-to be announced, but a number of possible titles for the album include ‘Met The Queen Of The Night In The Daytime’, ‘The Diabolical Principle’, ‘Two Different Dads’, ‘City Of The Sun‘ and ‘I Was So Confused’.


For more information on ‘Solos’, visit