Flaming Lips collaborate with Yoko Ono

Peaches, Le Tigre and Polyphonic Spree also get involved

The Flaming Lips are among 17 artists covering Yoko Ono on a new album entitled ‘Yes, I’m A Witch’.

Cat Power, Polyphonic Spree, Peaches and Antony of Antony & The Johnsons all contributed to the album, which involved each artist producing entirely new versions of her tracks, with most bands opting to use the original vocals.

The Flaming Lips‘ frontman Wayne Coyne said: “To be able to play with a track as uncompromising and confrontational as John and Yoko‘s ‘Cambridge 1969’ is, for any curious artist, a rare treat.

“We took Yoko‘s primal screams and John‘s moaning feedback and turned them into a kind of Ornette Coleman-esque melody…I fear we may have de-fanged rocks’ most disturbing performance-art-jam.”

The tracklisting is:

‘Witch Shocktronica Intro’ – Hank Shocklee

‘Kiss Kiss Kiss’ – Peaches

‘O’Oh’ – Shitake Monkey

‘Everyman…Everywoman’ – Blow Up

‘Sisters O Sisters’ – Le Tigre

‘Death Of Samantha’ – Porcupine Tree

‘Rising’ – DJ Spooky

‘No One Can See Me Like You Do’ – Apples In Stereo

‘Yes I’m A Witch’ – The Brother Brothers

‘Revelations’ – Cat Power

‘You And I’ – Polyphonic Spree

‘Walking On Thin Ice’ – Jason Pierce (Spiritualized)

‘Toy Boat’ – Antony (Antony And The Johnsons) and Hahn Rowe

‘Cambridge 1969-2007’ – The Flaming Lips

‘I’m Moving On’ – The Sleepy Jackson

‘Witch Shocktronica Outro’ – Hank Shocklee

‘Shiranakatta (I Didn’t Know)’ – Craig Armstrong