The band's unique version of 'Seven Nation Army' will come out next year...

Flaming Lips have recorded their cover of White Stripes’ ‘SEVEN NATION ARMY’ and will release it next year.

The band plan to release the song as a limited edition 7″ single in the New Year and also feature it on their forthcoming compilation ’Late Night Tales’.

The band played the song for the first time at T In The Park in 2003 when they stepped in at the last minute to replace the White Stripes at the festival.

Jack and Meg were unable to play the festival because Jack smashed his finger in a car crash.

The tracklisting for Flaming Lips’ ’Late Night Tales’ compilation runs:

Bjork – ‘Unravel’

Miles Davis – ‘My Ship’

Chris Bell – ‘Speed Of Sound’

Faust – ‘It’s a Bit Of A Pain’

Roxy Music – ‘2HB’

Alfie – ‘People’

Aphex Twin – ‘Film’

Mice Parade – ‘Galileo’

The Chameleons – ‘Up The Down Escalator’

Flaming Lips – ‘Seven Nation Army’

Chemical Brothers – ‘Playground For A Wedgeless Firm’

Love & Rockets – ‘Saudade’

Lush – ‘Monochrome’

Psychedelic Furs – ‘Sleep Comes Down’

Nick Drake – ‘River Man’

Sebadoh – ‘One Fire’

Radiohead – ‘Pyramid Song’

10CC – ‘I’m Not In Love’

Brian Eno – ‘Another Green World’

David Shirgley – ‘The Jist’

The album is scheduled for release in February.