The Flaming Lips to reissue ‘Clouds Taste Metallic’ in expanded form

The last Ronald Jones album turned 20 last week

The Flaming Lips are to reissue their seventh album ‘Clouds Taste Metallic’ in an expanded format, in celebration of the record’s 20th birthday.

The record was the last Flaming Lips release to feature Ronald Jones, and is often hailed as the last true Flaming Lips ‘guitar band’ album, before they progressed to a more psychedelic format.

The re-release will feature a host of extras, including live recordings, b-sides and rarities, and will be rebranded as ‘Heady Nuggs 20 Years After Clouds Taste Metallic’.

NMEDan Dennison/NME

The Flaming Lips have been working with Sia, Death Cab For Cutie and Bon Iver on music for the Silver Lake Chorus choir this year, with the resulting album (featuring Wayne Coyne) released in June.

They also covered The Beach Boys’ ‘Good Vibrations’ for a Brian Wilson documentary, while Wayne Coyne recorded an album with Miley Cyrus.

The new version of Clouds Taste Metallic is due out on November 27, on Warner Bros. It will come in the form of a 5LP box set and a 3CD bundle, as well as with different amounts of accompanying merch. It’s already available for pre-order, here.

The full, extended track listing is as follows:

Disc 1: Clouds Taste Metallic
01. The Abandoned Hospital Ship
02. Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus With Needles
03. Placebo Headwound
04. This Here Giraffe
05. Brainville
06. Guy Who Got a Headache and Accidentally Saves the World
07. When You Smile
08. Kim’s Watermelon Gun
09. They Punctured My Yolk
10. Lightning Strikes the Postman
11. Christmas At the Zoo
12. Evil Will Prevail
13. Bad Days (aurally excited version)

Disc 2: Due To High Expectations The Flaming Lips Are Providing Needles For Your Balloons / The King Bug Laughs (Oddities and Rarities)
01. Bad Days
02. Jets Part 2 (My Two Days As An Ambulance Driver)
03. Ice Drummer
04. Put the Waterbug in the Policeman’s Ear
05. Chewin’ the Apple of Yer Eye
06. Chosen One
07. Little Drummer Boy
08. Slow Nerve Action
09. It Was a Very Good Year
10. Sun Arise
11. Life on Mars
12. Ballrooms of Mars
13. Hot Day
14. Nobody Told Me
15. Magician Vs The Headache
16. She Don’t Use Jelly (Live @KJ103)

Disc 3: Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus with Needles (Live in Seattle 1996)
01. The Abandoned Hospital Ship
02. Unconsciously Screamin’
03. Take Meta Mars
04. Moth in the Incubator
05. Put the Waterbug in the Policeman’s Ear
06. Lightning Strikes the Postman
07. Bad Days
08. She Don’t Use Jelly
09. Chewin’ the Apple of Yer Eye
10. When You Smile
11. Psychiatric Explorations of the Fetus With Needles
12. Love Yer Brain
13. Placebo Headwound