Flaming Lips, Bon Iver and Sia among artists to write songs for the Silver Lake Chorus choir

The choir's self-titled album is due out June 16

Los Angeles-based choir the Silver Lake Chorus will release their self-titled debut album on June 16, a collection of tracks written by a number of noted songwriters, including The Flaming Lips, Bon Iver, Death Cab For Cutie‘s Ben Gibbard, Sia, Tegan and Sara, and Aimee Mann.

All 11 songs featured on the LP have been written specifically for the 25-member chorus, including the Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd-penned single ‘Heavy Star Movin”, which has already streaming on Soundcloud.

“The track The Flaming Lips sent us had a really specific and transformative feel to it,” The Silver Lake Chorus told Consequence of Sound. “They used a myriad of synths that made it feel vast and kind of trippy. When we arranged the song for the chorus, we took a chamber music approach instrument-wise while still shooting for that vast/trippy vibe. The Flaming Lips create such rich and intriguing sound worlds, and we were thrilled to take their lead and then make it our own.” Click below to listen to ‘Heavy Star Movin”.

The Flaming Lips, meanwhile, have spent the last few months indulging in their love of The Beatles. Having released ‘Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band’ tribute album ‘With A Little Help From My Fwends’ last year, the group recently performed a number of Fab Four covers during a special radio broadcast for Howard Stern’s SiriusXM.

They also appeared at the annual Tibet House Benefit Concert at New York’s Carnegie Hall last month, performing The Beatles’ ‘She’s Leaving Home’ and David Bowie’s ‘Warszawa’, and guested on a new version of John Lennon’s ‘Happy Xmas (War Is Over)’ with Yoko Ono just in time for last Christmas.

The Silver Lake Chorus tracklisting is:

‘From The Snow-Tipped Hills’
‘Hold Up For’
‘Break It Down’
‘Heavy Star Movin”
‘Same Song’
‘Nervous Soul’
‘Salted Wound’
‘Home Come Home’
‘Easy To Die’