The Futureheads announce instrument-free new album ‘Rant’ and UK tour – ticket details

Sunderland band have recorded their new album entirely in a cappella

The Futureheads have announced that they will release a new album ‘Rant’ and that it features no instruments at all.

The album, which will be released on April 2 on the band’s own Nul Records, is comprised entirely of a cappella versions of the band’s tracks and a series of cover versions.

You can hear the ‘Rant’ version of ‘Robot’ by scrolling down to the bottom of your screen now and clicking.

‘Rant’ includes covers of Black Eyed Peas‘ ‘Meet Me Halfway’ and Kelis‘ ‘Acapella’ as well as renditions of three traditional folk songs.

Singer Barry Hyde said of the album: “A Futureheads fan who doesn’t get ‘Rant’ is not a Futureheads fan. This version of The Futureheads has always been there. We’re bringing to the fore what we’re really about: a unification, a gang mentality, which is in the balance between our voices and our personalities. And on ‘Rant’ we’re pushing that right into your face.”

The tracklisting for ‘Rant’ is as follows:

‘Meet Me Halfway’
‘Sumer Is Icumen In’
‘The Keeper’
‘The No. 1 Song in Heaven’
‘The Old Dun Cow’
‘Man Ray’

The Futureheads will also embark a full UK tour in support of ‘Rant’, playing a set that will be entirely acoustic and a cappella.

The gigs begin at Bristol’s Colston Hall on April 3 and run until April 13 when the band play Manchester’s Royal Northern College of Music. The tour consists of nine dates in total.

The Futureheads will play:

Bristol Colston Hall (April 3)
London Union Chapel (4)
Leeds Wardrobe (5)
Stockton Georgian Theatre (6)
Gateshead Sage Theatre (8)
Glasgow Oran Mor (9)
Birmingham Glee Club (10)
Nottingham Glee Club (12)
Manchester Royal Northern College of Music (13)

Tickets go onsale on Tuesday (February 21) at 10am (GMT). To check the availability of The Futureheads tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.