The NME is sponsoring the Best Rock/Indie category...

Voting is now open for this year’s BT DIGITAL MUSIC AWARDS, which celebrates the cream of legal digital music entertainment.

Formerly known as the Interactive Music Awards, the awards honour the artists, radio stations, music TV programmes and the professional teams behind them who have done the most to reach music fans in the past year using digital media. NME will be sponsoring the Best Rock/Indie category, for which Paul Weller, Supergrass, The Concretes, The Zutons and Dizzee Rascal are all nominated.

The winners will be announced at a ceremony at the London Shepherd’s Bush Empire on October 19.

Last year’s winners included Westlife

(People’s Choice Award), Will Young (Artist Of The Year), Robbie Williams (Best Promotional Campaign), Virgin Radio (Best Radio Station Online), Ministry of Sound (Best Use Of Broadband), Muse (Best Rock/Indie Artist) and [a][/a] (Best Use of Mobile).

Andy Brown, CEO of BT Rich Media, said: “This year’s awards have been designed to significantly increase participation from consumers. Music fans have just begun to seriously embrace digital music entertainment and we aim to celebrate the positive role the platform plays for the industry”.

Peter Jamieson, chairman of the BPI, said: “2004 is proving to be a breakthrough year for digital music services. The BPI is pleased to support BT’s initiative in recognising the artists, the record companies and the technology providers pioneering this new market.”

There are 17 awards, 13 of which are voted for by the public. Cast your vote now by clicking [url=]here.

The nominees are:

Best Pop Artist

Brian McFadden

Girls Aloud

Kylie Minogue

Natasha Bedingfield

Peter Andre

Best Rock/Indie Artist (sponsored by NME)

Paul Weller


The Concretes

The Futureheads

The Zutons

Best Dance Artist


Fatboy Slim


John Digweed


Best Urban Artist


Goldie Lookin’ Chain



The Streets

Best Artist Download

Anastacia – ‘Left Outside Alone’

Coldplay – ‘2000 Miles’

George Michael – ‘Amazing’

Keane – ‘Everybody’s Changing’

Mario Winans – ‘I Don’t Want To Know’

Maroon 5 – ‘This Love’

OutKast – ‘Hey Ya!’

Scissor Sisters – ‘Laura’

The Rasmus – ‘In the Shadows’

The Streets – ‘Dry Your Eyes’

Best Music Download Service



Sony Connect

Best Radio Station Online

BBC 6 Music

LAUNCHcast Radio

Radio Magnetic

Virgin Radio


Best Interactive Music TV Programme


Best Web-Based Music Game

Muse Space Fighter game

McFly game

Razorlight Olympics game

Rooster – Randy Rooster game

Shapeshifters Hall of Mirrors game