The Hives preview new album ‘Lex Hives’ with video for ‘Go Right Ahead’ – watch

Band will release their long-awaited comeback album next month

The Hives have previewed their new album ‘Lex Hives’ with the video for ‘Go Right Ahead’. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click to watch the video.

The track is the first to be taken from the album and is also the record’s second track. The album itself will be released on June 5 and is the Swedish band’s follow-up to their 2007 record ‘Black And White Hives’. It has been produced by the band themselves.

The record contains a total of 12 regular tracks, including new single ‘Go Right Ahead’, which is the second track on the LP. A further two tracks will be included on the digital edition only.


The band’s frontman Howlin’ Pelle Almqvist has previously told NME that, although some tracks on the album represent a significant departure from their earlier records, the LP “still sounds like The Hives”.

Almqvist said of this: “There’s no formula, but it definitely sounds like The Hives. Every good band there is has a certain sound. There are a few songs that couldn’t have been on any of other Hives album, that are sort of a departure, but I’d say that kind of happened on the last time album too. But I’d also say that they couldn’t have been on any other album by anybody else either.”

The band are confirmed to return to the UK to play this summer’s Reading And Leeds Festivals at the end of August.

The tracklisting for ‘Lex Hives’ is as follows:

‘Come On!’
‘Go Right Ahead’
‘1000 Answers’
‘I Want More’
‘Wait a Minute’
‘Patrolling Days’
‘Take Back The Toys’
‘Without The Money’
‘These Spectacles Reveal The Nostalgics’
‘My Time Is Coming’
‘If I Had A Cent’
‘Midnight Shifter’
‘High School Shuffle’ (digital bonus track)
‘Insane’ (digital bonus track)

Only allow content to be shown if user is in UK.