The Hold Steady for live DVD and documentary release

'A Positive Rage' will be released on April 7

The Hold Steady have announced a documentary on DVD and their first-ever live album, set to be released on April 7.

‘A Positive Rage’ is a double disc package featuring footage from the the days surrounding the release of their third album, ‘Boys and Girls in America’, and 2006 world tour.

The 53-minute documentary kicks off with the band’s first-ever London performances, and follows them back to their homeland for a headlining tour.


The live set was recorded at the Metro in Chicago on October 31, 2007 and includes 17 songs. The enhanced album will also feature five bonus studio tracks: ‘Ask Her For Adderall’, ‘Cheyenne Sunrise’, ‘Two Handed Handshake’, and the previously unreleased tracks ‘Spectres’ and ‘40 Bucks’.

The tracklisting for ’A Positive Rage’ is:


‘Stuck Between Stations’

‘The Swish’


‘Chips Ahoy!’

‘Massive Nights’

‘Ask Her For Adderall’

‘Barfruit Blues’

‘Same Kooks’

‘You Gotta Dance (With Who You Came With)’

‘Lord, I’m Discouraged’

‘You Can Make Him Like You’

‘Your Little Hoodrat Friend’

‘Southtown Girls’


‘First Night’

‘Girls Like Status’

‘Killer Parties’

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.