The Kooks reveal new album details

'Konk' is due out this spring

The Kooks are putting the finishing touches on their sophomore album, which will be titled ‘Konk’, frontman Luke Pritchard exclusively told NME.COM.

The album is named after the London studio where the band have been recording the follow-up to 2006’s ‘Inside In/Inside Out’ for the past seven weeks.

“(Guitarist) Hugh (Harris) said, ‘Why don’t we call it the studio name?’ And we thought ‘The Kooks-‘Konk’ sounded right,” Pritchard explained.

In addition to recording in London, the band were recently in Los Angeles working with producer Tony Hoffer, who also produced their debut album.

“Tony’s a genius, but this time we wanted more involvement in the production,” Pritchard explained. “We wanted a modern yet warm, roots-based sound.”

Pritchard admitted that the band felt pressure to avoid falling into a sophomore slump on this album. “When we first went into the studio it was kind of weird, everyone was on edge,” Pritchard said. “But after the first week we completely relaxed and had fun with it.”

The band currently have 16 songs for the album that they will likely narrow down to 14. Track titles include: ‘See The Sun’, ‘Shine On’, ‘Do You Wanna (Make Love To Me)’, ‘Disappear’, ‘Lonely Cat’, ‘Sway’, and ‘Stormy Weather’.

They plan to release ‘Konk’ in March or April 2008.

“I think we’ve made a dynamic album,” Pritchard said. “Every song has its own character. It’s a good pop album. But talk is cheap–I want everyone to hear it.”

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.