The Lathums are raffling off a ‘holy grail’ vinyl to help save Wigan Athletic Football Club

Their cover of Al Wilson’s 'The Snake' will be pressed onto just one record

The Lathums have announced a one-off ‘holy grail’ vinyl containing a cover of Al Wilson’s ‘The Snake’, which is up for grabs through a raffle in a bid to save Wigan Athletic Football Club.

The rising trio will produce just one copy of the record, and have vowed not to release it in any other format in the future.

Proceeds will go towards supporting the activities of Wigan Athletic’s Community Trust and pay for essential club outgoings after it fell into administration. Snippets of the track will be ‘leaked’ by the band on social media to support the fundraising push.

Advertisement

To be in with a chance of bagging the unique vinyl, fans can purchase a raffle ticket for £5 here. A winner will be drawn on November 9.

“My life isn’t football at all, but I understand how important for my hometown it is to have Wigan Athletic survive,” said the band’s frontman Alex Moore.

“It’s not the fans’ fault, nor that of staff who face a loss of wages or worse, that so many bad decisions are made about who owns and runs football clubs. Like music, football makes memories for generations of people, their lives intertwined by the game. Even non-football fans must know how important it is.”

‘The Snake’ was given regular spins at Wigan’s legendary Northern Soul club Wigan Casino following its release in 1968, and it has since become synonymous with the band’s hometown.

“Each member has the track ringing in their ears as it was omnipresent at weddings, christenings and birthday parties for as long as they can remember,” a press release reads.

Advertisement

The Lathums released their four-track ‘Fight On’ EP back in January, and are set to embark on a UK and Ireland tour next April. Check out the full schedule below.

Thu 22 Apr Hull, Social – SOLD OUT
Fri 23 Apr Manchester, O2 Ritz – SOLD OUT
Sat 24 Apr Stoke, Sugarmill – SOLD OUT
Thu 29 Apr Glasgow, Garage – SOLD OUT
Fri 30 April  Sheffield, University Foundry – SOLD OUT
Sat 1 May Newcastle, Riverside – SOLD OUT
Tue 4 May Nottingham, Rescue Rooms – SOLD OUT
Wed 5 May Birmingham, O2 Institute 2 – SOLD OUT
Fri 7 May Leicester, O2 Academy 2 – SOLD OUT
Sat 8 May Leeds, Beckett Students Union – SOLD OUT
Sun 9 May Cardiff, Globe – SOLD OUT
Tue 11 May Oxford, O2 Academy 2 – SOLD OUT
Wed 12 May London, Electric Ballroom – SOLD OUT
Tue 1 June Edinburgh, Liquid Room – SOLD OUT
Thu 3 June Dunfermline, PJ Molly’s – SOLD OUT
Fri 4 June Dundee, Fat Sam’s
Sat 5 June Aberdeen, The Lemon Tree
Tue 8 June Belfast, Limelight 2
Thu 10 June Dublin, The Academy
Fri 11 June Galway, The Róisín Dubh
Sat 12 June Limerick, Dolan’s Warehouse

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement