THE LEMONHEADS' recordings on the Atlantic label are to be remembered with a compilation album...

THE LEMONHEADS (Evan Dando pictured) are the subject of a ‘best of’ anthology album, currently under the working title ‘The Best Of The Lemonheads: The Atlantic Years’.

The compilation, pencilled-in for a release in the UK at the beginning of July, comes in the wake of the band being dropped by Atlantic last November. The album will collate 19 singles and B-sides from the band’s four albums for the label. A spokesman for Atlantic in the UK says the final tracklisting and release date has still to be confirmed.

Atlantic are still deciding on the final version from three separate dummy running orders, though the label says the release will include the following tracks: ‘It’s A Shame About Ray’, ‘Confetti’, ‘Mrs Robinson’, ‘It’s All True’, ‘Into Your Arms’, ‘Big Gay Heart’, ‘If I Could Talk I’d Tell You’, and ‘Outdoor Type’. Other songs shortlisted include ‘Rudderless’, ‘My Drug Buddy’, ‘Divan’, ‘Shaky Ground’, ‘Great Big No’, and ‘Hospital’. Other B-sides and album tracks are still under consideration.


Meanwhile, no further news on the current status of The Lemonheads’ activities has been made public. Evan Dando is believed to be finishing demo tapes of new material and will begin seeking a new label deal when recording’s completed next month.

You May Like