The Lemonheads announce UK plans for covers album

'Varshons' features Kate Moss and Liv Tyler

The Lemonheads‘ new covers album ‘Varshons’ is to be released in the UK on June 15.

Produced by Butthole Surfers singer Gibby Haynes, the album features covers of songs by Wire, Gram Parsons, Leonard Cohen and Linda Perry‘s Christina Aguilera-sung hit ‘Beautiful’.

Guests on the album include Kate Moss and Liv Tyler.

Frontman Evan Dando said the album was inspired by the mixtapes Haynes has given him over the years.

“Making a good mix is an art, and Gibby has it down,” said Dando. “I thought it would be fun to share these songs with other people like he shared them with me. So I picked the ‘greatest hits’ from his mixes and covered them, along with a few other songs I always wanted to play.”

The album tracklisting is:

‘I Just Can’t Take It Anymore’ (Gram Parsons)
‘Fragile’ (Wire)
‘Layin’ Up With Linda’ (G.G. Allin)
‘Waiting Around To Die’ (Townes Van Zandt)
‘Green Fuz’ (Randy Alvey & Green Fuz)
‘Yesterlove’ (Sam Gopal)
‘Dirty Robot’ feat. Kate Moss (Arling & Cameron)
‘Dandelion Seeds’ (July)
‘Mexico’ (Fuckemos)
‘Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye’ feat. Liv Tyler (Leonard Cohen)
‘Beautiful’ (Linda Perry)