Kate Moss guests on new Lemonheads album

'Varshons' is due out this summer

The Lemonheads have announced that they will release a new album of cover versions this summer – and Kate Moss will guest on one of the tracks.

The album is titled ‘Varshons’, and will be released in the US on June 23. It features the band’s versions of songs by Leonard Cohen and Gram Parsons among others, and was produced by Butthole SurfersGibby Haynes, who Lemonheads frontman Evan Dando said provided the inspiration for the album.

“Making a good mix is an art, and Gibby has it down,” Dando said in a statement. “I thought it would be fun to share these songs with other people like he shared them with me. So I picked the ‘greatest hits’ from his mixes and covered them, along with a few other songs I always wanted to play.”

Moss appears on the track ‘Dirty Robot’, while actress Liv Tyler provides guest vocals on the Cohen song ‘Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye’.

The album tracklisting is:

‘I Just Can’t Take It Anymore’ (Gram Parsons)
‘Fragile’ (Wire)
‘Layin’ Up With Linda’ (G.G. Allin)
‘Waiting Around To Die’ (Townes Van Zandt)
‘Green Fuz’ (Randy Alvey & Green Fuz)
‘Yesterlove’ (Sam Gopal)
‘Dirty Robot’ feat. Kate Moss (Arling & Cameron)
‘Dandelion Seeds’ (July)
‘Mexico’ (Fuckemos)
‘Hey, That’s No Way To Say Goodbye’ feat. Liv Tyler (Leonard Cohen)
‘Beautiful’ (Linda Perry)

–By our Los Angeles staff.
[url=”/about”] Find out more about NME.[/url]