The Libertines’ John Hassall announces new album with his band, The April Rainers

The first single, 'Given Time', is out now

The Libertines bassist John Hassall has announced that his new band, The April Rainers, will release their debut album in November.

Hassall’s new band hail from Aarhus, Denmark, where the Libertine has lived for a number of years. As well as Hassall (who will take lead vocals and rhythm guitar), fellow Brit James Jefferys plays lead guitar for the band, while Jakob Bruno (drums) and Erlend Eggestad (bass) complete the new line-up.

John Hassall & The April Rainers will release their debut album, ‘Wheels To Idyll’, on November 25. The first single from that record was shared over the weekend – listen to ‘Given Time’ below.


Hassall has said of ‘Wheels to Idyll’: “Much of the album is about travelling to the country to see my Granny as a child. It might not be a very rock’n’roll subject matter, but I reckon you can still make good pop songs out of it.”

Hassall’s new band recently supported fellow Libertine Pete Doherty, including a show at London’s Hackney Empire.

Doherty recently announced plans for his second solo album. ‘Hamburg Demonstrations’ will be released on December 2, and has been preceded by the lead single, ‘I Don’t Love Anyone (But You’re Not Just Anyone)’.

You May Like