The Libertines share new track ‘Anthem For Doomed Youth’ – listen

Band's third album will be released on September 11

The Libertines have shared their second new song of the day, unveiling near title-track, ‘Anthem For Doomed Youth’, from their upcoming new LP.

The band release ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’, their first LP in 11 years, on September 11 – with the record pushed back a week from its original date. It follows the group’s 2004 self-titled album and 2002 debut ‘Up The Bracket’.

Having previously shared lead single ‘Gunga Din’ and ‘Glasgow Coma Scale Blues’ earlier on Friday, ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’ is now airing online. Listen below.


NMEAndy Hughes/NME

The band recently discussed experimenting with their signature sound for the upcoming LP, which will include the use of synths, in an interview with NME.

Drummer Gary Powell said: “I would have been really, really pissed off if we’d come back with a new album full of old stuff… The last thing I wanted us to do was sound like we were back in 2004”.

The Libertines play Reading And Leeds festival next weekend. The twin British festivals run from August 28-30.

The ‘Anthems For Doomed Youth’ tracklisting:

‘Gunga Din’
‘Fame and Fortune’
‘Anthem for Doomed Youth’
‘Heart of the Matter’
‘Belly of the Beast’
‘You’re My Waterloo’
‘Fury of Chonburi’
‘The Milkman’s Horse’
‘Glasgow Coma Scale Blues’
‘Dead for Love’
‘Love on the Dole’ [Bonus]
‘Bucket Shop’ [Bonus]
‘Lust of the Libertines’ [Bonus]
‘7 Deadly Sins’ [Bonus]