The Maccabees share album track ‘Spit It Out’ – listen

Band's fourth album 'Marks To Prove It' will be released on July 31

The Maccabees have revealed new album track ‘Spit It Out’ online.

The band have been previewing tracks from their forthcoming LP in snippets posted online. ‘Spit It Out’ now arrives in full following a spot as Annie Mac’s ‘Hottest Record’ on BBC Radio 1 on Monday (July 27).

Having already unveiled the album’s title-track as a single prior to the LP’s release, as well as previews of songs ‘Kamakura’ and ‘Ribbon Road’, you can now listen to ‘Spit It Out’ in full, below.

New album ‘Marks To Prove It’ will be released on July 31, following on from 2012’s ‘Given To The Wild’.

The Maccabees recently discussed the process of recording their new album to NME as “painful”, “tricky” and “traumatic”.

“I think if we’d just met each other and decided to do a record and it was this record, or it at least took the same amount of time [as this record], then we would have given in and said it wasn’t working,” said guitarist Hugo White.

Fellow guitar player, Felix White added: “Every single week we felt like the album might not happen. In that first year [of recording] we did think, ‘Well, maybe this isn’t working’. I can’t speak for everyone, but I didn’t feel like I was living a particularly anchored existence for a couple of years.”

The ‘Marks To Prove It’ tracklist is as follows:

‘Marks To Prove It’
‘Ribbon Road’
‘Spit It Out’
‘River Song’
‘Slow Sun’
‘Something Like Happiness’
‘WW1 Portraits’
‘Pioneering Systems’
‘Dawn Chorus’