Singer Romeo Stodart reckons the band's debut LP is up there with the best…

THE MAGIC NUMBERS have finished work on their debut album and have deemed it a “classic”.

The band, who will release their self-titled LP on June 13 through Heavenly Recordings, will put out the single ‘Forever Lost’ on May 23.

“It’s an honest, soulful record,” singer Romeo Stodart told NME. “I feel that we’ve made a real classic debut album. I’m really happy with it. There are loads of different moods reflected through every song and I think we’ve captured something on each one.”

He added: “A lot of the songs deal with love and loss and finding hope through it. Within the four of us being really close, the songs really transcend that feeling.”

However, despite finishing the record just days ago, Stodart is already thinking about the follow-up, which he hopes will be out within year. He said: “We’ve got loads of new songs so it’ll be nice to get back in the studio and start recording those. Some of the new songs are kind of crazier but still harmony based.”

‘The Magic Numbers’ tracklisting runs:

‘Mornings Eleven’

‘Forever Lost’

‘The Mule’

‘Long Legs’

‘Love Me Like You’

‘Which Way To Happy’

‘I See You, You See Me’

‘This Love’

‘Wheels On Fire’

‘Love Is A Game’


‘Hymn For Her’, which was released as a limited edition 7” last year, will feature as a hidden track.

The band go on to tour the UK in May, visiting:

Cardiff Ilfor Bach (May 10)

Brighton Concorde 2 (11)

London Forum (12)

Bristol Fiddlers (13)

Birmingham Academy 2 (15)

Manchester Academy 2 (16)

Glasgow King Tuts (17)

Leeds Cockpit (18)

Sheffield Fuzz Club (19)

Oxford Zodiac (21)

For ticket availability, [url=]go to NME Tickets or call them on 0870 1 663 663.