New bands and legends honoured at the London ceremony…

This year’s DIESEL-U-MUSIC AWARDS winners were announced at a ceremony in LONDON last night (July 22).

The contest champions unsigned musical talent across a series of genres, plus pays tribute to musical stalwarts. Past winners who’ve enjoyed a leg-up from the awards include Mylo and Tom Vek.

The winners of this year’s Diesel-U-Music Awards were:

Rock: The Pistolas

Electronic: Chalk

Leftfield: Shuffle

Hip Hop: Riddla

Drum n Bass: Genetics

DJ: Luke Ashworth

VJ: Inside Us All

Norwich band The Pistolas also scooped the Live Award for being the best performers amongst all the finalists.

Additionally The Fall’s Mark E Smith and Gang Of Four were honoured at the event hosted by Radio 1’s Edith Bowman.

Held at Canvas in Kings Cross, the Diesel-U-Music Awards witnessed a series of live performances with The Paddingtons, The Magic Numbers, El Presidente and The Pistolas among those playing.