The Magnetic Fields to release brand new album next year

'Love At The Bottom Of The Sea' is out on March 5, 2012

The Magnetic Fields will release their new album ‘Love At The Bottom Of The Sea’ on March 5, 2012.

The band’s 10th studio album will be released by Domino and supported by a number of UK and Ireland live dates, including a show at the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival in Minehead on March 11 and at London Royal Festival Hall on April 25.

The songs that make up the album are all under three minutes long and were recorded in Los Angeles, San Francisco and New York by Stephin Merritt, Claudia Gonson, Sam Davol, John Woo, Shirley Simms, Johny Blood and Daniel Handler.


Of the record, which mixes acoustic sonics with synthesisers, bandleader Merritt says: “Most of the synthesisers on the record didn’t exist when we were last using synthesisers.”

The ‘Love At The Bottom Of The Sea’ tracklisting is:

‘Your Girlfriend’s Face’
‘Andrew in Drag’
‘God Wants Us to Wait’
‘Born For Love’
‘I’d Go Anywhere with Hugh’
‘Infatuation (With Your Gyration)’
‘The Only Boy in Town’
‘The Machine in Your Hand’
‘Goin’ Back to the Country’
‘I’ve Run Away to Join the Fairies’
‘The Horrible Party’
‘My Husband’s Pied-a-Terre’
‘I Don’t Like Your Tone’
‘All She Cares About Is Mariachi’

The Magnetic Fields play:

Minehead ATP Festival (March 11)
Brighton Komedia (April 24)
London Royal Festival Hall (25)
Manchester RNCM (27)
Dublin The Olympia (28)
Cork Opera House (29)

To check the availability of Magnetic Fields tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.