The National assemble all-star cast for Grateful Dead tribute album

Mumford & Sons, The War On Drugs, Unknown Mortal Orchestra and Courtney Barnett for 'Day of the Dead'

The National have confirmed details of their Grateful Dead tribute album, which will include contributions from Courtney Barnett, Mumford and Sons and members of Arcade Fire among many others.

The album features covers of 59 Grateful Dead songs and clocks in at over six hours long. It will be released on May 20 via 4AD with proceeds going to Red Hot, the HIV/AIDS charity.

Among the artists joining the National on the album are Wilco, the Flaming Lips, Courtney Barnett, Anohni, the War on Drugs, Bill Callahan, the Walkmen, Kurt Vile and J Mascis, Jenny Lewis, TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe, Unknown Mortal Orchestra, Real Estate, Perfume Genius with Sharon Van Etten, Fucked Up, My Morning Jacket’s Jim James, Bonnie “Prince” Billy, members of Grizzly Bear, Stephen Malkmus Angel Olsen, Sonic Youth’s Lee Ranaldo, and Arcade Fire’s Richard Reed Parry.

The compilation was produced by Aaron Dessner and co-produced by Bryce Dessner and Josh Kaufman.

In addition to the album, an all-star Day of the Dead live show will take place at this year’s Eaux Claires festival in the US. The National will perform at the event alongside Justin Vernon, Jenny Lewis, Phosphorescent’s Matthew Houck, Will Oldham, Sam Amidon, Richard Reed Parry, Lucius, Bruce Hornsby, and UMO’s Ruban Nielson. It takes place on the weekend of August 12-13.

‘Day of the Dead’ tracklist:

Thunder (Vol. 1):

The War on Drugs: “Touch of Grey”
Phosphorescent, Jenny Lewis & Friends: “Sugaree”
Jim James & Friends: “Candyman”
Moses Sumney, Jenny Lewis & Friends: “Cassidy”
Bruce Hornsby and DeYarmond Edison: “Black Muddy River”
Ed Droste, Binki Shapiro & Friends: “Loser”
The National: “Peggy-O”
Kurt Vile and the Violators: “Box of Rain” [ft. J Mascis]
Bonnie “Prince” Billy and Friends: “Rubin and Cherise”
Perfume Genius, Sharon Van Etten & Friends: “To Lay Me Down”
Courtney Barnett: “New Speedway Boogie”
Mumford & Sons: “Friend of the Devil”
Lucius: “Uncle John’s Band”
The Lone Bellow & Friends: “Me and My Uncle”
Lee Ranaldo, Lisa Hannigan & Friends: “Mountains of the Moon”
Anohni and yMusic: “Black Peter”
Bryce Dessner: “Garcia Counterpoint”
Daniel Rossen, Christopher Bear and the National: “Terrapin Station (Suite)” [ft. Josh Kaufman, Conrad Doucette, So Percussion and Brooklyn Youth Chorus]
Angel Olsen: “Attics of My Life”
Wilco and Bob Weir: “St. Stephen (Live)”

Lightning (Vol. 2):

Bonnie “Prince” Billy: “If I Had the World to Give”
Phosphorescent & Friends: “Standing on the Moon”
Charles Bradley and Menahan Street Band: “Cumberland Blues”
Tallest Man on Earth & Friends: “Ship of Fools”
Bonnie “Prince” Billy & Friends: “Bird Song”
The National: “Morning Dew”
Marijuana Deathsquads: “Truckin'”
Cass McCombs, Joe Russo & Friends: “Dark Star”
Nightfall of Diamonds: “Nightfall of Diamonds”
Tim Hecker: “Transitive Refraction Axis for John Oswald”
Lucinda Williams & Friends: “Goin’ Down the Road Feeling Bad”
Tunde Adebimpe, Lee Ranaldo & Friends: “Playing in the Band”
Local Natives: “Stella Blue”
Tal National: “Eyes of the World”
Bela Fleck: “Help on the Way”
Orchestra Baobab: “Franklin’s Tower”
Luluc With Xylouris White: “Till the Morning Comes”
The Walkmen: “Ripple”
Richard Reed Parry with Caroline Shaw and Little Scream: “Brokedown Palace” [ft. Garth Hudson]

Sunshine (Vol. 3):

Real Estate: “Here Comes Sunshine”
Unknown Mortal Orchestra: “Shakedown Street”
Hiss Golden Messenger: “Brown Eyed Woman”
This Is the Kit: “Jack-a-Roe”
Daniel Rossen and Christopher Bear: “High Time”
The Lone Bellow & Friends: “Dire Wolf”
Winston Marshall, Kodiak Blue and Shura: “Althea”
Orchestra Baobab: “Clementine Jam”
Stephen Malkmus and the Jicks: “China Cat Sunflower – I Know You Rider”
Bill Callahan: “Easy Wind”
Ira Kaplan & Friends: “Wharf Rat”
The Rileys (Terry and Gyan Riley): “Estimated Prophet”
Man Forever, So Percussion and Oneida: “Drums – Space”
Fucked Up: “Cream Puff War”
The Flaming Lips: “Dark Star”
s t a r g a z e: “What’s Become of the Baby”
Vijay Iyer: “King Solomon’s Marbles”
Mina Tindle & Friends: “Rosemary”
Sam Amidon & Friends: “And We Bid You Goodnight”
The National With Bob Weir: “I Know You Rider (live)”