The National’s Matt Berninger and Menomena’s Brent Knopf post new track as EL VY – listen

Duo announce new album 'Return To The Moon'

The National‘s Matt Berninger and Menomena‘s Brent Knopf have joined forces to form EL VY. The pair will release their debut album ‘Return To The Moon’ later this year via 4AD and have already shared a song, ‘Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloome To Sing, With Crescendo)’. Click above to watch a lyric video for the track.

EL VY have also announced a number of tour dates for later this year, including stops in the UK and Ireland this December.

“This record is more autobiographical than anything else I’ve written, but the details aren’t true,” explained Berninger in a statement. “It’s written in the voices of a few invented characters, composites of different people – myself, my wife, and other people I was thinking about.”

“I never worried about sending Matt something unfinished,” Knopf added. “He’s able to imagine where it can go. He can grab the four bars that will become the core of the track and develop them into something amazing.”

NMEJenn Five/NME

EL VY – which, according to the band, is pronounced like a ‘plural of Elvis’ – is not the first project to feature members of both The National and Menomena. Earlier this year, Bryce Devendorf and Danny Seim, as well as Sufjan Stevens collaborator Dave Nelson, came together to form Pfarmers. The bands debut album ‘Gunnera’, came out in May.

The ‘Return To The Moon’ tracklisting is:

‘Return To The Moon (Political Song For Didi Bloome To Sing, With Crescendo)’
‘I’m The Man To Be’
‘Paul Is Alive’
‘Need A Friend’
‘Silent Ivy Hotel’
‘No Time To Crank The Sun’
‘It’s A Game’
‘Sleepin’ Light’ (Featuring Ural Thomas)
‘Sad Case’
‘Happiness, Missouri’

EL VY will play:

London Electric Ballroom (December 10)
Manchester Gorilla (12)
Dublin Whelans (13)