Members of The National, Menomena form supergroup Pfarmers

The band's debut album 'Gunnera' is set for release on May 12

Members of The National and Menomena have formed a supergroup called Pfarmers.

The new band is made up of Danny Seim (Menomena, Lackthereof), Bryan Devendorf (The National), and Dave Nelson (David Byrne & St. Vincent, Sufjan Stevens) and they will release their debut album, ‘Gunnera’, on May 12. Listen to the first song to be taken from the record, ‘The Ol’ River Gang’, below.

Speaking about the release, Seim has commented: “The record is about a dream I had where I’m reluctantly accepting a fear of drowning by focusing on being reincarnated as a giant Gunnera plant, which thrive on the banks of rivers (specifically the Jordan River i.e. the Biblical promised land) after I paint myself gold and sink to the bottom like the El Dorado of South American folklore.”

A special Ultra Limited Collector’s Edition of the album, limited to 50, will come with a ‘themed seed bomb sculpture’ by Chicago artist Edward Cabral. “A seed bomb is compressed soil/clay/ceramics containing live vegetation. When left outside in a field or garden they will dissolve and grow. Edward Cabral has sculpted these functional seed bombs into unique gold-leafed art pieces resembling the folk art of El Dorado and filled with real Gunnera seeds,” reads a press release.

The ‘Gunnera’ tracklisting is:

‘You Shall Know the Spirit’
‘Work for Me’
‘El Dorado’
‘The Ol’ River Gang’
‘How to Build a Tube’
‘Promised Land’