The National joined onstage by Bon Iver and The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser at Primavera Sound

Jagwar Ma and Warpaint's Stella Mozgawa also collaborate on day two of the event

The National headlined day two of Primavera Sound festival last night (May 30) in Barcelona, Spain, bringing out Bon Iver aka Justin Vernon and The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser for two separate collaborations.

Leading the bill on the Sony stage, The National played a 90-minute set backed by an intense light show, kicking off with ‘Don’t Swallow The Cup’ and bringing out tracks including ‘Bloodbuzz Ohio’, ‘Afraid of Everyone’ and ‘Conversation 16’.

An hour into the show, singer Matt Berninger then welcomed Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon to the stage to huge cheers, joking that “he has no idea how to play this song” before kicking into ‘Slow Show’ – taken from 2007 album ‘Boxer’. Vernon contributed guest vocals and acoustic guitar to the track before exiting. The singer had also played with his other band Volcano Choir earlier that evening.


The band then also invited The Walkmen’s Hamilton Leithauser to the stage at the end of the set to play ‘Mr November’ before finishing with a final rendition of ‘Terrible Love’.

The National played:

‘Don’t Swallow The Cap’
‘I Should Live In Salt’
‘Mistaken For Strangers’
‘Bloodbuzz Ohio’
‘Sea Of Love’
‘Hard To Find’
‘Afraid of Everyone’
‘Conversation 16’
‘Squalor Victoria’
‘I Need My Girl’
‘This Is The Last Time’
‘Slow Show’
‘About Today’
‘Fake Empire’
‘Mr. November’
‘Terrible Love’

Earlier in the evening, Pixies played a hit-packed set to a heaving crowd on the Heineken Stage. Entering in a row and hailing the crowd before starting the set, the band – now featuring Paz Lenchantin on bass – then kicked off with ‘Bone Machine’ before bringing out nine tracks from seminal 1989 album ‘Doolittle’, including ‘Hey’, ‘Wave of Mutilation’ and ‘La La Love You’ during the course of the set. The comprehensive setlist also took in various cuts from across their career including ‘Velouria’ and ‘Caribou’ alongside new offerings ‘Indie Cindy’, ‘Bagboy’ and ‘What Goes Boom’.

Later that night Jagwar Ma played a 3am slot on the Ray Ban stage, bringing out Warpaint drummer Stella Mozgawa for three songs at the end of the set. Playing the likes of ‘Let Her Go’, ‘What Love’ and ‘Man I Need’ early in the set, they then introduced Mozgawa – who had played with Warpaint the previous night – to join on drums for an extended version of ‘Come Save Me’, ‘Four’ and ‘The Throw’.

Elsewhere across the second day of the festival, Haim played the Heineken stage shortly after a heavy storm. Addressing the previous bad weather, Alana Haim declared, “I’m glad I’m not in the rain now. I’m not jinxing it and even if it does rain again, fuck it – I wanna get wet”. The trio, aided by drummer Dash Hutton and a keyboard player, played tracks from debut album ‘Days Are Gone’ including singles ‘The Wire’, ‘Falling’ and ‘My Song 5’, which bassist Este Haim described as her “favourite part of the set” because “when people hear this, people lose their fucking shit”.


Newcomer FKA Twigs drew a reasonable audience for her atmospheric, smoke machine-laden set on the Pitchfork stage, while SBTRKT, Sharon Van Etten and The War on Drugs also all performed on day two of the festival.

Primavera Sound concludes tonight (May 31) with sets from Foals, Black Lips, Ty Segall and Connan Mockasin among others.


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts