The band also play a cover of a Ramones classic…

The Ordinary Boys debuted four new songs last night (February 13) during their headlining SHOCKWAVES NME AWARDS 2005 show, as well as a cover of a Ramones classic.

The band gave fans a treat with the new songs ’Thanks To The Girl’, ’Brass Bound’, ’Life Will Be The Death Of Me’ and ’Boys Will Be Boys’, before opening up their encore with the punk legends’ ’The KKK Took My Baby Away’.

The gig also marked the group’s first gig with new drummer Simon Goldring, following the departure last year of founding member Charlie Stanley.


Set to be their new single, ’Boys Will Be Boys’ also featured a guest slot from Ranking Junior, son of Ranking Roger from The Beat.

Although exact release details are to be confirmed, the single is expected out in May.

The Others caused a mini-riot earlier in the evening as fans crowd-surfed en masse desperate to get closer to the band.

Pet Shop Boys’ Neil Tennant was spotted in the crowd watching the show.

The Ordinary Boys‘ full set list ran:

‘Week In / Week Out’


‘Nip It In The Bud’

‘The List Goes On’

‘Thanks To The Girl’

‘Maybe Someday’

‘Little Bubble’

‘Brass Bound’

‘Weekend Revolution’

‘In Awe Of The Awful’

‘Life Will Be The Death Of Me’

‘Over The Counterculture’

‘Boys Will Be Boys’

‘Little Bitch’

‘Talk, Talk, Talk’

‘The KKK Took My Baby Away’


The ShockWaves NME Awards Shows 2005 continue tonight (February 14) at the London Astoria with LCD Soundsystem, Soulwax, The Go! Team and Juliette Lewis and The Licks.