The Orwells announce release of ‘Disgraceland’ album

The Chicago band will tour the UK following the June 2 release of the LP

The Orwells have announced the release of their new album ‘Disgraceland’.

Featuring production from Dave Sitek (Yeah Yeah Yeahs, TV On the Radio), Chris Coady (Beach House) and Jim Abbiss (Arctic Monkeys), the LP will come out on June 2 through Canvasback/Atlantic Records. Scroll down to watch the video for new song ‘Let It Burn’, which features on the album alongside previously released single ‘Dirty Sheets’. The album was recorded in London, Chicago, New York, Los Angeles and Woodstock. See the album’s tracklisting below.

Speaking about the album, guitarist Matt O’Keefe comments: “We were still in high school when we wrote the early songs for this album. So we expected that we would be handing the first few songs we were making out on a CD to kids in the hallways, just like we had before. But as time went on and we got signed, we figured this might be the last album we write while still living in Elmhurst. We wanted to capture what the last 18-20 years of our lives were like, in this anywhere USA suburb.”

‘Disgraceland’ follows the band’s 2012 debut release, ‘Remember When’.

The US band, from Chicago suburb Elmhurst, will play five shows in the summer ahead of a number of confirmed appearances at festivals in the UK and Europe. Starting at Liverpool’s East Village Arts Club on the day of ‘Disgraceland”s release (June 2), the band will then travel to Edinburgh, Nottingham and London before ending their jaunt in Manchester on June 6.

The ‘Disgraceland’ tracklisting is:

‘Southern Comfort’
‘The Righteous One’
‘Dirty Sheets’
‘Bathroom Tile Blues’
‘Gotta Get Down’
‘Let It Burn’
‘Who Needs You’
‘Always N’Forever’
‘Blood Bubbles’
‘North Ave’

The Orwells will play:

Liverpool East Village Arts Club (June 2)
Edinburgh Electric Circus (3)
Nottingham Rescue Rooms (4)
London Dingwalls (5)
Manchester Gorilla (6)

To check the availability of The Orwells tickets and get all the latest listings, head to NME.COM/tickets.