Liam Howlett says new Prodigy album is a ‘violent’ response to ‘all that DJ bollocks’

Howlett says 'dance music has become formula-based'

The Prodigy have revealed a handful of track titles from their forthcoming new album, with Liam Howlett of the band announcing that the album is “pure violent energy”.

The Prodigy’s as-yet-untitled new record will be the Braintree band’s sixth studio LP and the follow up to 2009 album ‘Invaders Must Die’.

PHOTOS: 40 Incredible Albums Which Changed Dance Music

Speaking to Q, Howlett confirmed that track titles on the album include ‘Beyond The Death Ray’, ‘Nasty Nasty’, ‘Get Your Fight On’, ‘Wall Of Death’ and ‘Rottweiler’. The previously confirmed Sleaford Mods collaboration ‘Ibiza’ will also feature on the album.

“Dance music across all types has become formula-based,” Howlett told the magazine. “It’s ‘Here’s your drum fill, here’s your build.’ All that DJ bollocks and tutorials on YouTube shit. This album is totally organic. Pure violent energy.”

Earlier this year, Howlett said that the album would be more “violent-sounding” than The Prodigy’s previous material.