The Prodigy announce 25th anniversary edition of ‘The Fat Of The Land’

You can check out a new remix of 'Firestarter' by drum 'n' bass pioneer Andy C now

The Prodigy‘s third album ‘The Fat Of The Land’ turns 25 today (June 30), and to celebrate they’ve announced the release of a special edition reissue of the acclaimed LP.

The game-changing album – which was originally released on June 30, 1997 – featured the hit singles ‘Firestarter’, ‘Breathe’ and ‘Smack My Bitch Up’, and topped both the UK and US album charts. It has sold over 10million copies to date worldwide.

To celebrate its 25th anniversary, XL Recordings have announced two-anniversary releases including a limited edition 2LP silver 12-inch vinyl package of the original album with a reimagined version of Alex Jenkins’ artwork.


Due to be released on November 4 via XL Recordings, you can pre-order the anniversary reissue here.

To mark today’s anniversary, drum ‘n’ bass pioneer Andy C has released a brand new remix of ‘Firestarter’. You can check it out below.

‘Fat Of The Land’ 25th anniversary reissue tracklisting:

1. ‘Smack My Bitch Up’
2. ‘Breathe’
3. ‘DieselPower’
4. ‘Funky Shit’
5. ‘Serial Thrilla’
6. ‘Mindfields’
7. ‘Narayan’
8. ‘Firestarter’
9. ‘Climbatize’
10. ‘Fuel My Fire’

Continuing the 25th Anniversary celebrations, The Prodigy are set to return to the stage to play a run of UK live dates next month. The sold-out tour covers 10 dates around the country, finishing with three nights in a row at London’s O2 Academy Brixton.


“We can’t wait to get back onstage to play our tunes for the people again. The 25th anniversary of ‘Fat Of The Land’ felt like the right time for us to step up,” the band said at the time of announcing the tour.

They also hinted that new music could follow too: “We’ll be droppin tunes from all our albums and maybe some shit u haven’t heard before.”

Keith Flint
Keith Flint of The Prodigy. CREDIT: Getty Images

They concluded by saying that they are dedicating the shows to late frontman Keith Flint, who passed away on March 4, 2019 after taking his own life at the age of 49. “This one’s for Flinty…Now let’s fuckin go!” they said.

You can see the full list of dates below:

JULY 2022
8 – Sheffield, O2 Academy
9 – Sheffield, O2 Academy
14 – Liverpool, Mountford Hall
15 – Leeds, O2 Academy
16 – Birmingham, O2 Academy
18 – Newcastle, O2 City Hall
19 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse
21 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
22 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
23 – London, O2 Academy Brixton