The Raveonettes release surprise new album ‘Pe’Ahi’

The duo's seventh album is surf-inspired

The Raveonettes have released a surprise new album, ‘Pe’Ahi’.

The LP was announced today (July 22) and is also available to buy and stream now, which you can do via SoundCloud. The album is named after a surfing spot in Maui, Hawaii.

Speaking about the album’s surf inspiration to Drowned In Sound, Sune Rose Wagner of the band commented: “Musically there’s a lot of surf guitar sounds in there. But used in very different ways to the traditional surf record sound. There’s also a lot of references to surf language and beaches in the lyrics but again used in a very different context. It was a challenge to try and channel some of the inspiration I found – especially the surf history of Southern California – but not in an obvious way.”


‘Pe’Ahi’ is the band’s seventh album, following 2012’s ‘Observator’. The duo, made up of Wagner and Sharin Foo, released their debut LP, ‘Chain Gang of Love’, in 2003.

The ‘Pe’Ahi’ tracklisting is:

‘Endless Sleeper’
‘Killer In The Streets’
‘Wake Me Up’
‘A Hell Below’
‘The Rains Of May’
‘When Night Is Almost Done’
‘Summer Ends’


The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts