The Raveonettes reveal new album details

The record is due out later this year

Danish duo The Raveonettes have revealed the name of their forthcoming third album exclusively to NME.COM.

Due for release towards the end of the year on an as-yet-unspecified label, the band have settled on 12 tracks and have selected the final title of ‘Lust, Lust, Lust’, which has been inspired by the lyrical content of many of the songs.

“There are a lot of songs that deal with desire, restlessness and the tough choices you have to make sometimes,” explained frontman Sune Rose Wagner, who, along with bandmate Sharin Foo, has just completed mixing duties in New York. “Lust and forbidden desires are definitely the main themes of the record and most of it comes from a personal perspective.”

The album was self-recorded, self-produced and the final tracks were culled from a selection of over 100 that Wagner had demoed during the past two years. Of the songs NME.COM was played, standouts included the distinctly surf-influenced number ‘Dead Sound’ and a bubblegum-pop smash in the making called ‘You Want The Candy’.

However the duo have clearly given the new material a much darker edge overall, particularly in the shape of the discordantly melodic band favourite ‘Expelled From Love’ and ‘Aly Walk With Me’ which is comprised of a hypnotic hip-hop groove and dynamic quiet/loud guitar shifts.

“We didn’t want that flimsy sound we had on the ‘Pretty In Black’ album (which came out in 2005) anymore,” continued Wagner. “It’s a grittier, tougher and much more powerful record – one that I think is perfect for doing a massive amount of drugs to in some underground Berlin club!”

Although still unsequenced, confirmed track names for ‘Lust, Lust, Lust’ are:


‘You Want The Candy’



‘Black Satin’

‘Expelled From Love’

‘Dead Sound’

‘The Beat Dies’

‘Honey I Never Had You’

‘Aly, Walk With Me’


‘With My Eyes Closed’

The band are also due to tour the UK in the autumn.