The Rolling Stones announce new album ‘Blue & Lonesome’

Album features Eric Clapton and a host of blues covers

The Rolling Stones have officially announced details of their new album ‘Blue & Lonesome’.

Following much speculation this week, it has now been confirmed that the blues record, their first studio LP in over a decade, will be released in December 2 via Polydor.

According to a press release, the 12-track album was recorded in just three days at British Grove Studios in west London and sees the band return to “their roots and the passion for blues music”.


‘Blue & Lonesome’ features covers of songs by Jimmy Reed, Willie Dixon, Eddie Taylor, Little Walter and Howlin’ Wolf. It sees the band joined on record by touring members Darryl Jones (bass), Chuck Leavell (keyboards) and Matt Clifford (keyboards), plus Eric Clapton, who features on two tracks.

Co-producer Don Was says: “This album is manifest testament to the purity of their love for making music, and the blues is, for the Stones, the fountainhead of everything they do.”

Hear a snippet of opening track ‘Just Your Fool’ below.

See the album’s artwork and full tracklist beneath.


1. ‘Just Your Fool’
2. ‘Commit A Crime’
3. ‘Blue And Lonesome’
4. ‘All Of Your Love’
5. ‘I Gotta Go’
6. ‘Everybody Knows About My Good Thing’
7. ‘Ride ‘Em On Down’
8. ‘Hate To See You Go’
9. ‘Hoo Doo Blues’
10. ‘Little Rain’
11. ‘Just Like I Treat You’
12. ‘I Can’t Quit You Baby’