Listen as The Smiths star announces new album

Science Agrees’ will be out in August.

The Smiths bassist Andy Rourke releases the first album with his new band D.A.R.K. on August 19.

D.A.R.K. also features The Cranberries singer Dolores O’Riordan and New York DJ Ole Koretsky, with the band named after their initials.

After signing to Cooking Vinyl, the album ‘Science Agrees’ will be followed by a one-off headline show at London’s Bush Hall on September 21.


D.A.R.K. formed after Rourke and Koretsky met while gigging in Washington DC. They began working on songs for two years, before a chance meeting between Rourke and O’Riordan led to her asking him what he was working on.

After O’Riordan added her ideas to Rourke and Koretsky’s work, the three exchanged further song ideas via email before meeting to record and produce sessions in Ontario. Influences cited on the album include David Bowie, The Cure, Pet Shop Boys, REM and composer Angelo Badalementi.

Since The Smiths split in 1987, Rourke has played with Sinead O’Connor and Badly Drawn Boy, as well as forming short-lived supergroup Freebass with fellow bassists Mani of The Stone Roses and Peter Hook of New Order.

Since The Cranberries’ most recent album ‘Roses’ in 2012, O’Riordan has been a coach on the Irish edition of The Voice in 2013. In February, she was fined £4,690 for headbutting a police officer and spitting at him after she was removed from a transtatlantic Aer Lingus flight from New York. A judge said it would be wrong to impose a jail sentence on the singer as she had been showing signs of mental illness during her attack.


Juice WRLD, 1998-2019 – the NME obituary

The Chicago rapper has died from a seizure at the age of 21

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts