The Soft Pack announce tracklisting for debut album

Self-titled record will be out next year

The Soft Pack are to release their debut album on February 1 next year.

The self-titled record was recorded with Eli Janney, formerly of Girls Against Boys, in New York.

Guitarist Matty McLoughlin told NME.COM: “Eli was a perfect producer choice, he comes from that DC punk background, but he’s also being in a band who were pretty poppy, they were sort of like a next Nirvana kind of thing in the ’90s.


“He understood both ends of the spectrum. We do write pop songs but we come from more of a punk background and he made sure we didn’t sound cheesy or lame. We just wanted a better fidelity, like Iggy Pop on ‘New Values’.”

The ten-track album finishes with ‘Parasites’, which was recorded when the Los Angeles band was still called The Muslims.

‘Parasites’ is the only song that’s been out before, everything else is new,” said McLoughlin.

The tracklisting of ‘The Soft Pack’ is:

‘Down On Lovin”
‘Answer To Yourself’
‘Move Along’
‘Pull Out’
‘More Or Less’
‘Tides Of Time’

Meanwhile the band are playing four European dates next week.


The Soft Pack play:

Glasgow King Tuts (November 3)
Manchester Ruby Lounge (4)
London Barfly (5)
Paris La Cigale (6)

To check the availability of The Soft Pack tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.