The Stooges unveil new album details

First LP in three decades due next Spring

The Stooges have confirmed details of their first album in 33 years.

Entitled ‘The Weirdness’, the LP was written in Florida earlier this year and recorded at Electrical Audio studios in Chicago with acclaimed producer Steve Albini.

Track titles confirmed for the album, due out on March 20 2007, include:


‘Greedy Awful People’


‘Mexican Guy’

‘I’m Fried’


‘O Solo Mio’

‘She Took My Money’

‘End Of Christianity’

Led by Iggy Pop, the current line-up features three of the four original band members and original sax player Steve Mackay.

The Stooges first formed in 1967 and were a band for just six years.

After reuniting for the 2004 Coachella Valley festival, a successful reunion tour followed and the band subsequently decided to record a studio album.

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.