The Strokes reveal scrapped new album sessions

Plus Albert Hammond Jr says new album will have 10 songs

The Strokes‘ guitarist Albert Hammond Jr has revealed that the band have produced their new album themselves after scrapping early recording sessions.

He said that the follow-up to 2006’s ‘First Impressions Of Earth’ will feature 10 songs, adding that he is “beyond thrilled” with the record, which they ended up making in his own studio.

Before the new sessions the band scrapped tracks recorded at the start of the year, reports Rolling Stone. These initial sessions saw them decamp to New York’s Avatar Studios in February with producer Joe Chiccarelli. They later decided to helm the record themselves with help from engineer Gus Osberg.


The guitarist said that the mood in the band is good, with the album recorded and set to be mixed soon.

“We’re all really excited to be stepping into the next chapter,” he said. “We spent the last six months recording in my studio upstate and we are beyond thrilled with the 10 songs we have for this record.”

Speaking of the finished tracks, Hammond Jr added: “I’m positive that you’ll be as excited as we are.”


Eminem criticised for making light of Manchester Arena attack on new album

Eminem has faced backlash after making light of the Manchester Arena bombing on his new album. The rap icon surprised fans this morning (January 17)...

The 1975 return to their roots on the devastatingly sincere ‘Me and You Together Song’ 

The band's latest is a return to their shimmering early material