The Teal Album: Weezer tackle Michael Jackson and TLC on surprise 10-track covers LP

"It’s us covering everyone else’s hits."

Weezer have surprised fans by releasing a 10-track covers album, only months before dropping their next original record. Check it out below.

‘The Teal Album’ was released on Spotify late last night and sees the cult US band giving their take on seminal 80s hits – including Tears For Fears ‘Everybody Wants To Rule The World’, a-ha’s ‘Take On Me’ and Michael Jackson’s iconic ‘Billie Jean.’

Other surprise inclusions include a cover of Black Sabbath’s ‘Paranoid’, TLC’s ‘No Scrubs’ and ELO’s ‘Mr Blue Sky.’

“SURPRISE. The Teal album is out now,” wrote Weezer on Twitter.

“It’s us covering everyone else’s hits.”

Weezer (Teal Album)

Weezer (Teal Album), an album by Weezer on Spotify

Meanwhile, it was confirmed that Weezer’s ‘Black Album’ will finally arrive in March this year.

As they shared new track ‘Zombie Bastards’, the Los Angeles group revealed that it’ll arrive on March 1.  According to a press release, the record will feature “musical references of everything from Gorillaz, to Can, to Pink Floyd.”

Speaking to NME in October 2017, Cuomo described the record as being “darker” and “more experimental and wildly negative”. “It’s experimenting with more modern electronic elements,” he added. “It has one foot in the future and one foot in the past. The foot in the past would be like The Jesus & Mary Chain.”