John Peel's favourite is to come out again in its' original format...

Undertones’ classic ’TEENAGE KICKS’ is to be released in its’ original 7” four-track vinyl format.

The track, late DJ John Peel’s favourite song of all time, will be issued to herald the arrival of a double CD, also titled ’Teenage Kicks’, featuring a host of songs from the punk-pop era of the late Seventies. Both are out on April 4.

The EP, limited to 1,000 copies, will feature the original 1978 tracklisting – the title track, ’Smarter Than U’, ’True Confessions’ and ’Emergency Cases’.


The full tracklisting for the double CD is as follows:

CD1:The Undertones – ‘Teenage Kicks’

The Jam – ‘A Town Called Malice’

Blondie – ‘Hangin’ On The Telephone’

The Clash – ‘Rock The Casbah’

Dexy’s Midnight Runners – ‘Geno’


Elvis Costello –‘Oliver’s Army’

Squeeze – ‘Up The Junction’

The Boomtown Rats – ‘I Don’t Like Mondays’

The Stranglers – ‘Peaches’

Joy Division – ‘Love Will Tear Us Apart’

Ian Dury & The Blockheads – ‘Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick’

Jilted John – ‘Jilted John’

Splodgenessabounds – ‘Two Pints of Lager & A Packet Of Crisps Please’

Toy Dolls – ‘Nellie The Elephant’

The Vapours – ‘Turning Japanese’

The Damned – ‘New Rose’

Sham 69 – ‘Hersham Boys’

The Skids – ‘Into The Valley’

Generation X – ‘Valley Of The Dolls’

The Ruts – ‘Babylon’s Burning’

The Alarm – ‘68 Guns’

CD2:The Buzzcocks – ‘Ever Fallen In Love’

The Sex Pistols – ‘Pretty Vacant’

The Specials – ‘Too Much Too Young’

Madness – ‘Baggy Trousers’

The Beat – ‘Mirror In The Bathroom’

The Undertones – ‘My Perfect Cousin’

XTC – ‘Senses Working Overtime’

The Lambrettas – ‘Poison Ivy’

Secret Affair – ‘Time For Action’

The Teardrop Explodes – ‘Reward’

Jo Boxers – ‘The Boxer Beat’

The B-52s – ‘Rock Lobster’

Jonathan Richman – ‘Roadrunner’

The Pretenders – ‘Brass In Pocket’

Martha & The Muffins – ‘Echo Beach’

The Barracudas – ‘Summer Fun’

The Members – ‘Sound Of The Suburbs’

Sham 69 – ‘If The Kids Are United’

Stiff Little Fingers – ‘At The Edge’

X-Ray Spex – ‘Germ Free Adolescents’

The Damned – ‘Neat Neat Neat’