Listen to exclusive unreleased The Verve track ‘Shoeshine Girl’

Song will feature on 'A Storm In Heaven' reissue

The Verve have premiered a previously unreleased song, which dates back to the sessions for the band’s classic debut album ‘A Storm In Heaven’.

‘Shoeshine Girl’, which can exclusively be heard via NME below, was recorded during the sessions for the 1993 album. It wasn’t released on ‘A Storm In Heaven’ or its accompanying singles and has remained unheard for the past 23 years.

Along with ‘South Pacific’, it’s one of two unreleased tracks to feature on a newly expanded 3CD box-set of the album, which is reissued on September 9.


Also out the same day is a 3CD version of The Verve’s second album ‘A Northern Soul’. Originally released in 1995, which features seven previously-unreleased songs. These include early versions of ‘The Rolling People’ and ‘Come On’, which the band finished for their third album ‘Urban Hymns’, and demos of ‘Mover’ and ‘Muhammad Ali’, which they reworked for 2008’s comeback album ‘Forth’.

The reissue of ‘A Storm In Heaven’ also includes all the band’s B-sides and non-album EP tracks from the era and two unreleased BBC sessions. As well as the CDs, a fourth DVD disc features the band’s 1992 gig at Camden Town Hall, the US-only video for ‘Blue’, unseen footage of the band in New York and a video for ‘South Pacific’, which is made from footage of The Verve recording the album in the studio, filmed by their producer John Leckie.

The reissue of ‘A Northern Soul’ adds all the B-sides and non-album tracks of the era plus two further unreleased BBC live sessions.

Both albums add four postcards, a poster and books featuring interviews with all the band members bar Richard Ashcroft as well as rare photos by bassist Simon Jones and sleeve photographer Michael Spencer Jones.

‘A Storm In Heaven’ and ‘A Northern Soul’ are also available as vinyl editions reproducing the original vinyl packaging.


Ashcroft released his fifth solo album ‘These People’ in May, while Simon Jones and guitarist Nick McCabe formed Black Submarine, who released their debut album ‘New Shores’ in 2014. Drummer Pete Salisbury now plays with The Charlatans.