The Weeknd unveils ‘Rolling Stone’ video and writes open letter to fans – watch

Secretive R n' B rising star thanks fans for their 'patience and loyalty'

The Weeknd has unveiled the video for his track ‘Rolling Stone’ – watch it below.

The video is the second video to be put out from the secretive R n’ B star’s three mixtapes from last year, which will be released as a complete package titled ‘Trilogy’ on November 12.

As well as the video, the Canadian singer – real name Abel Tesfaye – has also written a letter to his fans, explaining his illusive nature and why he has never done an interview.


“I want to thank you for listening and being patient for as long as you have,” he wrote on his website. “No matter what an artist’s ego clouds them to believe, you are the reason why I have been able to continue to do what I love to do and that is to entertain you. My journey for inspiration may seem like masochism to others who have not been given the task to make art, but best believe it brings me nothing but joy.”

Writing about the ‘Rolling Stone’ video, he added: “Because I am a man of few words, I chose to make a viral video to show you how I felt and where I stand. I usually don’t like to ‘spoon feed’ my audience because I grew up idolising story tellers who tell stories using symbolism, so it was in my nature to do the same. The Rolling Stone video takes place in a dimly lit studio which represents the two worlds I have been stuck in. The gloomy side represents the mainstream world while the other side represents the underground. The girl holding on represents you.”

He also suggested that more material will be put out before the release, adding: “You will continue to get what you fell in love with, and I will continue to give you what you ask for. I’ll never make you wait again. With that being said expect more from me soon leading up to “Trilogy”. Thank you again for your patience and loyalty, I will not disappoint.”

‘Trilogy’ will feature remixed and remastered versions of The Weeknd’s three mixtapes, ‘House Of Balloons’, ‘Thursday’ and ‘Echoes Of Silence’ as well as three new tracks. The whole package will feature 30 tracks in total and will be released on November 12.