The White Stripes to release ‘Nine Miles From The White City’ live album

Double LP will be released to celebrate 10th anniversary of 'Elephant'

The White Stripes will release a live album titled ‘Nine Miles From The White City’, it has been confirmed.

The release will come through Jack White’s Third Man Records Vault subscription service and will be released as a double vinyl LP featuring 26 songs. Recorded at Chicago’s Aragon Ballroom in 2003, the tracklisting includes fan favourites such as ‘Hotel Yorba’ and ‘Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground’ as well as a number of cover versions of songs by Bob Dylan and Captain Beefheart.

The release celebrates 10 years since the release of The White Stripes album ‘Elephant’ in 2003 and will come with a 7″ featuring demos of the Elephant tracks ‘I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother’s Heart’ and ‘Little Acorns’ as well as photos of the recording sessions for the album taken by David Swanson. A snippet of the demo version of The White Stripes ‘I Want to Be the Boy To Warm Your Mother’s Heart’ can be heard below.


Nine Miles From the White City tracklisting:

‘When I Hear My Name’
‘Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground’
‘Love Sick’ (Bob Dylan cover)
‘Hotel Yorba’
‘Cool Drink of Water Blues’ (Tommy Johnson cover)
‘The Hardest Button To Button’
‘I Want to Be The Boy To Warm Your Mother’s Heart’
‘Stones in My Passway’ (Robert Johnson cover)
‘Stop Breakin’ Down’ (Robert Johnson cover)
‘In the Cold, Cold Night’
‘Seven Nation Army’
‘The Same Boy You’ve Always Known’
‘Black Jack Davey’
‘We Are Going to Be Friends’
‘Offend in Every Way’
‘Little Cream Soda’
‘Cannon/’Party Of Special Things To Do’ (Captain Beefheart cover)
‘Candy Cane Children’
‘The Air Near My Fingers’
‘Screwdriver’ (tease)
‘Ball And Biscuit’
‘Screwdriver’ (reprise)
‘Let’s Build a Home’
‘Goin’ Back to Memphis’ (Henry & June cover)