Jack White announces ‘Acoustic Recordings’, shares unreleased White Stripes song

The compilation features rare tracks, alternate versions and White Stripes material

Jack White has announced a career-spanning new album, ‘Acoustic Recordings 1998-2016’.

The 26-track compilation features acoustic versions of White’s solo album tracks, B-sides and alternate takes of songs by the White Stripes and the Raconteurs.

‘Acoustic Recordings’ also includes an unreleased White Stripes song, ‘City Lights’. The track was originally written for ‘Get Behind Me Satan’, but then forgotten until White revisited the 2005 album for Third Man’s Record Store Day 2015 vinyl reissue and finished the recording in 2016.


It will be the first new White Stripes song to come out since 2008.

White’s last solo album, ‘Lazaretto’, was released in 2014. Since then he has put out an album with the Dead Weather, duetted with Kermit the Frog, invested in a baseball bat company, appeared on Beyoncé’s album and played the first ever record in space.

Earlier this year, NME rounded up Jack White’s best acoustic moments over the course of his career so far.