Listen to The Wombats’ Drake-inspired new single ‘Turn’

Band release new album 'Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life' in February 2018

The Wombats have shared their new Drake-inspired single ‘Turn’. Scroll below to listen.

The Liverpool band’s third album ‘Glitterbug’ was released in 2015 and they will now follow it up with new record ‘Beautiful People Will Ruin Your Life’, out February 9, 2018.

Having returned with comeback track ‘Lemon To A Knife Fight’ last month, they have now revealed ‘Turn’.


“I knew when I was writing it that there was something kind of special that I needed to relax and not try to rush it, which I kind of normally do with a lot songs I get excited about,” frontman Matthew ‘Murph’ Murphy told Zane Lowe on Beats 1.

“So I was just like, okay this feels great let’s chill out and let’s not freak out and we’ll slowly pick away at it for a couple of weeks and then yeah that’s what happened.”


‘Turn’ features the lyrics: “They say the best memories are the ones that we forget / like listening to Drake at your best friends swimming pool /Floating anti-clockwise in a red mushroom / Maybe it’s the crazy that I miss”.

Murph explained that the lyric came to mind when he was listening to Drake’s album ‘Views’ at poolside with his wife, adding: “there was a lot of kind of imagery from that day which felt good to use for a song.”


You can pre-order the band’s new album here. Its full tracklist is below.

  1. Cheetah Tongue
  2. Lemon to a Knife Fight
  3. Turn
  4. Black Flamingo
  5. White Eyes
  6. Lethal Combination
  7. Out Of My Head
  8. I Only Wear Black
  9. Ice Cream
  10. Dip You In Honey
  11. I Dont Know Why I Like You But I Do