The xx play new single ‘On Hold’ for the first time in live session

Band make live return in BBC Radio 1 session with Annie Mac at Maida Vale

The xx performed their new single ‘On Hold’ live for the first time in a BBC Radio 1 session last night (November 10).

Earlier in the day (November 10), the band shared new song ‘On Hold’ from upcoming third album ‘I See You’. Their record will be released on January 13, 2017 via Young Turks, following previous albums, ‘xx’ and ‘Coexist’.

Appearing on Annie Mac’s Radio 1 show, the band performed ‘On Hold’, plus several other songs from their back-catalogue, at London’s Maida Vale studios. Listen to the full episode at BBC iPlayer.


The xx also played ‘Basic Space’, ‘Islands’, ‘Angels’, ‘Fiction’ and a mash-up of Jamie xx’s ‘Gosh’ and ‘xx’ song ‘Shelter’. It was their first live performance in two years.

READ MORE: The xx’s New Album: Release Date, Tour Dates, New Tracks And Everything You Need To Know


‘I See You’ was recorded between March 2014 and August 2016 in New York, Texas, Reykjavik, Los Angeles and London and produced by the band’s Jamie Smith, plus Rodaidh McDonald. It has been described as “more outward-looking, open and expansive”.

‘On Hold’ samples Hall and Oates’ 1981 track ‘I Can’t Go for That (No Can Do)’. Daryl Hall has told the band to “pay me” following the sample.

The xx have also been announced as the musical guest of the November 19 episode of Saturday Night Live.


Listen to ‘On Hold’ below and see the full album tracklist:

1. ‘Dangerous’
2. ‘Say Something Loving’
3. ‘Lips’
4. ‘A Violent Noise’
5. ‘Performance’
6. ‘Replica’
7. ‘Brave For You’
8. ‘On Hold’
9. ‘I Dare You’
10. ‘Test Me’

Watch MØ talk to NME about wanting to work with Jamie xx: